RHONDA PATTON CELEBRITY AUTHOR INTERVIEW

“QUEEN OF THE MONTH”

CELEBRITY AUTHOR

RHONDA PATTON

Welcome! Let me pour you a cup of Lemon Lift tea and we’ll get started. Please help yourself to a chicken salad sandwich and a raspberry walnut scone. We have Caramel Pumpkin Cheesecake for dessert.

Where do you live? Tell us a little bit about yourself.

 I live in Shreveport, Louisiana.  I am a mother of two beautiful children, a girl 11 and a boy 2.  I am married to my best friend, my illustrator, and my co-writer.  We love camping, anything outdoors with the kids, we love to go to the diamond mine (digging in the dirt).  I have always had the love of writing.  I love kids so it was easy to make my kids’ books.

 

Are you a traditionally published or Indie author?

I am self-published.  With low funds and year and a half of research what companies fit my budget, I decided to self-publish.

 

What are your hobbies?

 I love writing, photography (anything with butterflies or nature), face booking, and social networking.

 

Tell us about your current book. What was your inspiration? 

My current book is “Searching for the Unknown”.  It is a story about a couple who moved to a small town after the husband was transferred for his job.  They bought a nice house they had to fix up.  They loved the property, the fishing, and everything but there was something they didn’t like, the other people who lived in the house.  They have passed and started haunting them. The inspiration for this story was some happenings that has happened to my husband and I.  And then our imaginations ran.

 

How did you become a writer? When did you start? 

I have always loved writing poetry.  When I was in high school and had a crush I would write.  I could not express my feelings aloud like I could on paper.  I am not a good talker.  So if I had a feeling deep within me I would write.  I divorced in 1999 and lost someone dear to me in the split, he was my stepson.  He had many difficult situations in his life that I wanted to write something positive for kids.  Now with my own two kids I write things that I would want them to read instead of all the fake stories out there.  These are based on our lives only where children can relate. 

 

How long did it take you to finish your first book? 

My first story did not take long at all.  It is a kid’s short story so not many pages.  For “Searching for the Unknown” it took a couple of months.  It is also a short story for teens to adults.

 

Where do you like to write?  

With two kids it is hard to find a nice quiet place to relax and write.  So I have to take time when my husband gets off from work and go to our room and write.  I either write when our two year old is taking a nap (like now), or late at night while he is sleeping.

 

Favorite author(s)? 

I can’t really say I have a favorite.  Every author out here is putting so much work together to strive for a good book.  The work an author does to research everything for their book to publishing, editing, etc. is very hard work.  Once published then you have to find your audience and then put a lot of time into social networking.  I respect every author out there.

 

How many books have you written, so far? Do you plan to write more? 

I have written over 11 books.  I have put my Ted and Raymond Series together as 3 books in one.  The projects are coming, more Ted and Raymond Series books.  We have another paranormal book almost finished “The Spirits of ChesterVille General Store”.  They all will be great reads.

 

Would you like to share a link where we can purchase your books?

 http://www.amazon.com/Rhonda-Patton/e/B008QX4XO2/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

Barnes and noble, books-a-million, amazon, CreateSpace, and many more sites.

What about a link to your website?

www.rhondapattonauthor.weebly.com

Rhonda, thank you so much for joining us and allowing us to get to know you better. May you continue to enjoy success in your writing endeavors.

Our winner for Micki Peluso’s book “And the Whippoorwill Sang” is Deirdre Tolhurst. Congratulations!

 

 

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rhonda Patton
    Oct 01, 2012 @ 09:31:59

    Thank you for the opportunity to share my passion of writing.

    With many blessings,

    Rhonda

    Reply

  2. Nancy Jill Thames
    Oct 23, 2012 @ 07:06:27

    Rhonda, it was a pleasure!

    All my best,
    ~Nancy Jill

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Afternoon tea Interview with Rhonda Patton | Ted and Raymond Adventures
  4. Trackback: Updated my Children’s Book review blog….. | FreckledFrog Designs

Leave a comment