DEBORAH MALONE CELEBRITY AUTHOR INTERVIEW

“QUEEN OF THE WEEK”

CELEBRITY AUTHOR

DEBORAH MALONE

Welcome! Let me pour you a cup of Lady Gray tea and we’ll get started. Please help yourself to a cucumber sandwich and a cranberry pecan scone. We have a White Chocolate Banana Bread Pudding with Vanilla Bean Ice Cream and fresh fruit for dessert.

Thank you for having me as a guest, Nancy.

My pleasure. Now where do you live? Tell us a little bit about yourself.

I live in the North Georgia Mountains.

My dad was from Opelika, AL and my mother was from Cincinnati, OH. It’s so true when they say opposites attract. My dad had moved there to work for General Electric. While they were there they had my two older brothers, Bill and Curtis. In the early 1950’s they moved to north Georgia where my dad was transferred to work at GE. I wonder sometimes how I would have turned out if we’d stayed in Ohio – I’d be a *&^% YankeeJ This past summer we had a reunion of twelve cousins in Cinn on my mother’s side. Some I hadn’t seen for 40 years. It was so much fun!

 

My mother had RA (rheumatoid arthritis), but Dad never missed a church service taking us kids to church.  I have had my ups and downs with my faith, but I’ve never given up on God. I’ve come to the conclusion there are some things we will not have the answers to while on this earth. And that is alright – in Pro. 3:5 we are told to “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.” That is the verse Trixie holds on to in “Death in Dahlonega.”

 

 

Are you a traditionally published or Indie author?

 It is a traditional, print-on-demand small press.

 

What are your hobbies?

I am limited with what I can do because of my fibromyalgia, but I love macro (up close) nature photography. I took the picture of the butterfly on my blog Butterfly Journey.

 

Tell us about your current book. What was your inspiration?

Trixie and Dee Dee head off to Marietta, Georgia for another assignment. They visit the Marietta History Museum where they spend the night to see if they can sight the resident ghosts. Sometime during the night a murder takes place in the museum and the director, Doc Pennington, is put on the suspect list. He asks Trixie and Dee Dee to help him find the real killer. Nana takes a larger role in this book and she won’t disappoint you with her antics. My inspiration was writing an article for the history museum in Marietta for the magazine I work for. Just like Trixie!

 

 

How did you become a writer? When did you start?

I first started when I was a young girl, but of course I didn’t finish that book J Then I started writing   for “Georgia Backroads.” It just progressed to writing a novel. I’ve always wanted to write, but while I was writing my manuscript I wrote it as a secular book. While I was writing it I was thinking I’d like to write it in a manner that wouldn’t be offensive to Christians. I didn’t even know there was such a thing as “Christian fiction.” I had finished the manuscript when I read one of Margaret Daley’s books and went to her website where I ‘discovered’ Christian fiction. I couldn’t get enough. I joined ACFW and began to study how other writers wrote their books. I went back and rewrote my manuscript as Christian fiction.

 

How long did it take you to finish your first book?

I really don’t know. Probably about 4-5 years in all. Although, I found an old floppy disk that showed where I started on it in 2001. A long time ago. But life got in the way and I had to take some time off before it got done.

 

Where do you like to write?

I write sitting on the couch with my laptop in my lap.

 

Favorite author(s)?

Ann George, Margaret Daley, Julie Lessman, Melanie Dickerson – just to name a few.

 

How many books have you written, so far? Do you plan to write more?

I’m on my fourth book. Yes, I want to keep writing as much as I can.

 

Would you like to share a link where we can purchase your books? http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nbsbnoss?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=deborah+malone+death+in+donh

 

 

Debbie has an established blog, Butterfly Journey where she reviews Christian Fiction. http://www.deborahsbutterflyjourney.blogspot.com/

You can also catch her at Sleuths and Suspects where she reviews mysteries. http://www.sleuthsandsuspects.blogspot.com/

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sharon
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 15:25:20

    Hi Deborah, Your book sounds like a real southern thriller. Are you by any chance related to your main character, Trixie? I’m so glad you discovered Christian Fiction. I wish you oceans of blessings!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

