MATT PATTERSON CELEBRITY AUTHOR INTERVIEW

“KING OF THE WEEK”

CELEBRITY AUTHOR

MATT PATTERSON

Welcome! Let me pour you a cup of Prince of Wales tea and we’ll get started. Please help yourself to my version of your Captain Harvey’s Steak Sub Sandwiches. I made sliders for tea! We also have the Turtle Chocolate Cake you like for dessert.

M.P. Thank you so very much for having me. I don’t believe I’ve ever been a “King of the Week” before, so I consider this an honor!

Where do you live? Tell us a little bit about yourself.

Home, sweet home is currently Gilbert, Arizona – a growing suburb of the Phoenix area. I was born and raised in Baltimore, Maryland – youngest of two children.  I have been married to my wife, Bonnie, for 27-plus years. We’ve had three daughters – Emily, Lauren and Kimberly.

I’m an absolutely huge sports fan – especially, baseball and college football. I’m also a little bit of a movie geek.

I’m a fan of food as well. I love Maryland steamed crabs or crab soup! It they’re not readily accessible, a really good, back-home cheesesteak or cheeseburger sub with loads of hot peppers and grilled onions. Probably not the perfect compliment to tea, but they sure are yummy!

Are you a traditionally published or Indie author?

I’m very proud to say I am a self-published indie author! Given the current publishing and economic climate – any and all marketing efforts an indie author is performing on their own behalf is also going to be required by a traditional publisher. I’m a very hands-on person and would prefer to make the call on certain aspects of my book(s). At the end of the day if I have anyone to complain about – it’ll boil down to the fella I see in the mirror.

What are your hobbies?

I’m reasonably boring fella. I read, listen to audio books, try my hardest to work out, watch college football and write. Boy, after writing that I have to say – I’m not a reasonably boring fella. I’m a VERY BORING fella!

Tell us about your current book. What was your inspiration?

I’d be happy to. My Emily was released in late November/early December of last year.

My inspiration? My daughter – Emily.  The actual idea for the book came from a newspaper column I wrote almost 20 years prior.

Emily was born with Down syndrome and just two years later was diagnosed with leukemia.  I try to take the reader by the hand and walk them through our journey with our little one – from birth, diagnosis, treatment, her eventual passing and our efforts to move on without her.

I’ve been so very touched by the wonderful response to our story.  Numerous readers have shared notes containing such heartfelt words of encouragement as to how Emily’s story has affected them. It’s been truly humbling, considering many of these notes come from families with special needs children or those who are actually fighting the fight with cancer/leukemia. It’s been quite an emotional and gratifying time.

How did you become a writer? When did you start?

I have a background in journalism and marketing communications that totals some 20-plus years. I’ve written everything from straight news stories and columns to news releases and annual reports. Thing is, I really don’t believe I became a “writer” until I sat down and tried to write my first book. So, I have to say I have two answers – 1986 and 2010, but let’s go with the latter.

How long did it take you to finish your first book?

It would kill me to say 20 years, but I have to agree the timing was right for when it finally came to pass.  In actuality, it took me three to four months to write, edit, rewrite, edit, rewrite, edit and finally have friends say, “Let it go for crying out loud.”

Where do you like to write?

As funny as it may seem – I prefer to write at our public library here in Gilbert. It’s quiet. I have a large table to work from and I have any and all the comforts of home.

Favorite author?

This is an easy one – Mitch Albom.

He has such a simple and clean delivery to his work. He creates the perfect blend of humor, sensitivity and spirituality (without being preachy) that truly makes you laugh, cry and be inspired. I have to say I try to pattern my writing after his. When I grow up – I want to be Mitch Albom.

How many books have you written, so far? Do you plan to write more?

I have written one book – My Emily. Yes, I have two books on the horizon – one, which will be co-authored with my wife Bonnie and the second will be a book about how men deal with grief.

Would you like to share a link where we can purchase your books?

The easiest link, offering the most options, is most likely on the My Emily website:  http://www.my-emily.com/Buy_My_Emily.html

What about a link to your website?

I invite folks to stop by and visit www.my-emily.com and learn a little bit more about our little girl and our story.

Links:

Websites:  http://mattpatterson.me   http://www.my-emily.com

Twitter: @myemily_thebook

Facebook: Matt Patterson, Author  &  My Emily 

Matt, thank you so much for sharing your journey with us – I’ve admired your courage and wonderful spirit from afar. So good to finally connect! 

This week’s winner of Matt Patterson’s book “My Emily” was won by Paulette Harper Johnson. CONGRATULATIONS PAULETTE!!

CONGRATULATIONS TO LAST WEEK’S WINNER OF C.L.RAGSDALE’S

“THE MYSTERY OF HURTLEBERRY HOUSE”

DEBORAH MALONE!!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paulette Harper Johnson
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 07:20:49

    Thanks for sharing Matt. Great interview.
    pharperjohnson@gmail.com

    Reply

  2. Matt Patterson
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 08:54:15

    Thank you Paulette and a BIG thanks to Nancy for having me!

    Reply

  3. Nancy Jill Thames
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 09:12:55

    Matt – it was an honor to have you come. The sliders were a wonderful idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

