ADA BROWNELL CELEBRITY AUTHOR INTERVIEW

“QUEEN OF THE WEEK”

CELEBRITY AUTHOR

ADA BROWNELL                           

     Welcome! Let me pour you a cup of Lady Grey tea and we’ll get started. Please help yourself to a chicken salad sandwich and a scone. We have macadamia feast cake for dessert.

Q Where do you live? Tell us a little bit about yourself.

A I am a transplant to Missouri from Colorado. I grew up in a large family of poor folks—seven of us redheads—which includes Mom. Dad and one girl and boy escaped that distinction. But all of us are a bunch of tenacious achievers who know how to work and do it, and it extended into the next generation.
I’ve written for Christian publications since age 15 and along the way began reporting for newspapers. I spent 17 years as a staff reporter squeezed between raising our five children. I worked 14 of those years for The Pueblo Chieftain in Colorado, and am now retired. I still write op-ed pieces for newspapers and for Christian publications.

Q Are you a traditionally published or Indie author?

A My latest book, Swallowed by LIFE, is an Amazon Create-Space book. My first, Confessions of a Pentecostal, was published by Radiant Books, a division of the Assemblies of God’s Gospel Publishing House.

Q What are your hobbies?

A Gardening, games, singing in groups, playing the piano and organ.

Q Tell us about your current book. What was your inspiration?

A I wrote Swallowed by LIFE because when our 31-year-old daughter was diagnosed with an aggressive form of lymphoma, she had nothing to turn to except the Word and secular ideas. The Word is sufficient, but facts we know from medical science add incredible information that shows we’re more than a body. I had access to much of this as a medical reporter, but also did research. Although I had an agent/publisher when I completed the book, he went bankrupt. I didn’t go forward with the book for years, and changed it from a four-part book to what I have now. The first section was similar to what I have now, with the second section dealing with losses with illness and aging, difficult chronic illness, etc. The last section was about choices such as power of attorney; living wills, burial or cremation, and what different denominations and religions believe about each; and the last part on why we should leave a “testament” (literally a testimony) and legacy to friends and family. By pitching the four-part book at conferences, I learned publishers expected anyone who writes such a book to be a minister or someone with a huge following.

Q How long did it take you to finish your first book?

A I had no office when I wrote Confessions and because my husband worked shifts and did paperwork at home, I created it with him sitting across from me at the dining room table, often interrupting and talking to me. I imagine I completed it in about six weeks, but it’s only 26,000 words. I completed the first draft of The Belle of Peachville, except for the first six chapters, in five weeks during ACFW’s Novel Track—80,000 words.

Q Where do you like to write?

A I’ve had an office for years now and it’s a blessings. I started writing at the kitchen table between the time the kids went to bed and my husband got up to go to work for the railroad at midnight. But I once had a idea for a story while I was rocking a colicky baby. I sent the older children for paper and pen, wrote it out on the rocking chair arm, got up early the next morning and typed it up and sent it. It appeared in The Pentecostal Evangel in six weeks. The editor needed that article for that edition.
But let me add, a noisy newsroom also is a wonderful place to write. First, you are motivated by a deadline or an editor breathing down your neck; Second, people respect that you are working; Third, you know payday is coming!

Q Favorite author(s)?

A Nothing tops the Bible. Whatever Bible book I’m reading becomes my favorite because it is rich with truth, encouragement and motivation. I also like Max Lucado, Billy Graham, Peretti. Word Painting by Rebecca McClanahan for writing advice. I was hooked on historical romances by Janette Oke, but then the Prairie Rose series by Catherine Palmer became my all-time favorite. I still like that one, which I’ve probably read close to a dozen times, but today’s Christian writers are producing so much great fiction it’s difficult to choose just one.

Q How many books have you written, so far? Do you plan to write more?

A I have only two published books, but I have chapters in five others. Then, I have a teen novel, Joe the Dreamer and the Mystery at Sir Henry’s Castle and Imagine the future YOU, that I plan to self publish. I’m hoping for a traditional publisher for the historical Christian romance. I have other non-fiction books for teens, which were used as curriculum, and plan sequels to both novels.

Q Would you like to share a link where we can purchase your books?

A Paperbacks and the Kindle version of Swallowed by LIFE are available on Amazon at http://amzn.to/Jnc1rW

The paperback is also available at  Barnes and Noble http://bit.ly/JnbKVL
I plan to have Confessions available on Kindle soon.

Q What about a link to your website?

A My blog is serving as my website now: http://www.inkfromanearthenvessel.blogspot.com

Ada, it’s been lovely getting to know you and hearing about your work. I wish you the greatest success in the future. Thanks for stopping by!

Read a Summary of “Swallowed by LIFE” by Ada Brownell

Do you know you are more than a physical body? Evidence shows our body is constantly dying and being renewed cell by cell and about every seven years is totally rebuilt – even our bones. We start as an egg about the size of a dust mite, yet we were the same person in the womb we are today. We may lose limbs, gain and lose weight, have vital organs removed and mechanical or transplanted parts inserted and we’re still the same person. Inside us is life, and a soul and spirit which were designed by God to live forever.

“Swallowed by LIFE” is subtitled “Mysteries of Death, Resurrection and the Eternal.” The book speaks about this mystery; how you know what to believe; the wonder of life with all its electrical systems; the awesome truth about cell death and regeneration; brain death, and other mysteries of the change from mortal to immortal; where we go when our body dies; resurrection; a glimpse at what we will do in heaven; God’s mercy  after man’s rebellion when He promised a Redeemer way back in Genesis to deliver us from death; and leaving a legacy here.

Questions and answers are included for study groups.

        Paperback and Kindle versions are available.

        The paperback is $10 from me – usually $12.95 on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

        The Kindle version is $3.95 on Amazon, but free for download May 18-20.

        The link: http://amzn.to/Jnc1rW

Biography:

ADA BROWNELL spent 17 years as a newspaper reporter, mostly at The Pueblo Chieftain in Pueblo, CO.  She has sold approximately 275 articles and fiction stories to 45 Christian magazines and wrote one story on assignment for US Magazine. She is author of two books, Swallowed by LIFE, and Confessions of a Pentecostal. She and her husband, Lester, have five children—one in heaven.

 

 

Leave a Reply

