HOLLY BUSH CELEBRITY AUTHOR INTERVIEW

 

CELEBRITY AUTHOR 
HOLLY BUSH
 

Welcome! Let me pour you a cup of tea, and please help yourself to a scone and we’ll get started. 
Thanks for having me!
Where do you live? Tell us a little bit about yourself. 
I live in south eastern Pennsylvania in Lancaster County. I’m married to a wonderful man and have two lovely daughters. I’m originally from a small western Pennsylvania town called Latrobe.
Are you a traditionally published or Indie author?
Indie.
What are your hobbies? 
My husband and I are both gardeners. I do a little bit of vegetable gardening and we do lots of flowers. Lots and lots of flowers. I’m a reader of course and served on my local library board for a number of years.
What a lovely garden! Tell us about your current book. What was your inspiration? 
Romancing Olive is the story of Olive Wilkins, a spinster librarian from Philadelphia. She receives news of her brother’s and his wife’s death and 
travels to Ohio to rescue her orphaned niece and nephew. I’m not sure how to explain this without sounding odd but I see my characters in my head. They lodge themselves there. I saw Olive seated on the train west to Ohio, purse strings looped over her arm, bonnet tied and traveling coat buttoned-up, staring out the window at the passing landscape. She was very consciously not engaging other passengers and dreaming her dreams about raising her niece and nephew in her family home in Philadelphia. I didn’t have a clear picture yet of why Olive had to rescue these children, only that she did.  
How did you become a writer? When did you start?
I started writing about fifteen years ago. Writing weekends and evenings and while watching our daughter play softball at tournaments for about 6 of those years. 
How long did it take you to finish your first book?
Not long enough. I got it out to look at not long ago and there’s a reason why they tell you to write your first novel and put it in a drawer. But I learned a ton just by completing the task and getting to ‘The End.’ I believe I’m a better writer for it.

Where do you like to write?

I have a brand new desk and chair in a room with lots of natural light and a door that closes! 
Favorite author(s)?
Mary Balogh, Lee Child, Jane Austen, John Irving, David McCullough, Ken Follet, Maggie Osborne . . . to name a few!
How many books have you written, so far? Do you plan to write more? 
I have written 5 historical romances that I will be releasing over the course of the next year or so. I’ve also written a women’s fiction novel and am currently writing a second although my writing takes a back seat to the marketing necessary to get my books in the hands of readers. I think the best way to do that is to interact with bloggers and their followers on a personal level – just like this interview. I want to get to know your gang and I hope they are interested in taking a look at Olive.
Would you like to share a link where we can purchase your books? Amazon and Nook
What about a link to your website? www.hollybushbooks.com

Thank you for coming to tea today, Holly. It was lovely getting to know you. Best of luck with your books!
Thanks so much for having me, Nancy. I also wanted to let your readers know that I’ll be releasing a book at the end of February about a woman named Julia Crawford who travels to the mid west to marry a shopkeeper. Things don’t go quite as planned for that ‘Train Station Bride’ but they work out for the best! Sign up at my website to receive advance notice of Julia’s release date.
Leave a Reply

