SANDRA McLEOD HUMPHREY CELEBRITY AUTHOR INTERVIEW

“QUEEN OF THE WEEK”

CELEBRITY AUTHOR

SANDRA McLEOD HUMPHREY

Welcome! Let me pour you a cup of Raspberry Zinger tea and we’ll  get started. Please help yourself to a zucchini bread and cream cheese sandwich and a raspberry scone and we’ll get started. We have one of your favorites – lemon meringue pie for dessert.

Where do you live? Tell us a little bit about yourself.

Hi, Nancy, I live in a suburb of Minneapolis with my husband, one geriatric white German shepherd, one 6-month old Aussie puppy, and one cat who’s convinced he’s a dog. We used to have two horses and a pony, but as the kids grew older, we traded the horses in for a pool. I was a clinical psychologist for 31 years and worked primarily with young women with character disorders: borderline personalities, anorexics, bulimics, etc. and retired in ’92 to begin my second career as a writer. My writing career is what I refer to as “The dessert of My Life.”

Are you a traditionally published or Indie author?

I’m traditionally published. My primary publisher is Prometheus Books, but I’ve also had two books published by CSS Publishing, and my newest book coming out later this year is published by Royal Fireworks Press.

What are your hobbies?

When I was younger, my favorite hobby was exhibiting at horse shows—English Pleasure Classes, Horsemanship Classes, and Hunter Classes. Now that I’m older, I prefer activities where I can keep both feet on the ground. During the summer, I swim half a mile every day and our Aussie puppy RAZZ (short for Razmatazz) and I have just begun her second set of obedience classes. She’s doing well and is obviously more “with it” than her owner. I finally had to give up using the clicker because I couldn’t coordinate all my body parts to click the clicker in sync with my verbal commands and reward her behavior all at the same time. As I already mentioned, she’s doing really well—me, not so much!

Tell us about your current book. What was your inspiration?

My most recent book They Stood Alone!: 25 Men and Women Who Made a Difference is a collection of  brief biographies of  25 men and women who refused to conform to the societal beliefs and expectations of their time and, by stepping out and away from the crowd, they changed their world and ours as well.

While doing my school visits, I met so many students who had already given up their dreams and no longer had any personal aspirations. I wanted to restore their hopes and their dreams by showing them that one person can indeed make a difference. Each of  the 25 men and women in my book made a unique contribution which changed and shaped the course of history, and they were not afraid to take a risk even when it meant standing alone.
They Stood Alone!  received the 2011 Mom’s Choice Gold Award for Young Adult Nonfiction and was the 2011-2012 DIY Book Festival Winner for the Teenage category. The Pennsylvania School Librarians Association (PSLA) also selected it for their annual list of best selections for young adults in the nonfiction category.

How did you become a writer? When did you start?

I’ve always loved to write and back in college my Spenserian Stanza about Endymion won a national award. I was majoring in English at the time, but I wasn’t sure what I would do with a degree in English, so at the last minute, I switched my major to psychology. I did no more creative writing for 30 years, but I think I can safely say that I was the only psychologist who “enjoyed” writing up diagnostic assessments and court reports. When I retired in ’92, I began writing short stories for children’s magazines and also began writing the first book in my What Would You Do? series.

How long did it take you to finish your first book?

It actually took two years because my first publisher asked me to rewrite it for a younger readership which I did. Then, as luck would have it, the editor retired and I had to begin looking for a publisher all over again.

Where do you like to write?

My husband and I share a study and my desk and computer are between his desk and the door, so every time he goes in or out of the office, I have to get up and let him by. If I had my druthers, I would have my own little office with plenty of windows (which someone else would wash)  and where my creative juices would just bubble over!

Favorite author(s)?

I have so many favorites, but some of my favorite favorites include C.S. Lewis, Og Mandino, Judy Blume, Joan Bauer, Jay Asher, and Jodi Picoult.

How many books have you written, so far? Do you plan to write more?

I have eight books published so far and my tween problem-solving book Making Bad Stuff Good is scheduled for publication by Royal Fireworks Press later this year.

Would you like to share a link where we can purchase your books?

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_3_9?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=sandra+mcleod+humphrey&sprefix=Sandra+Mc%2Cstripbooks%2C207

What about a link to your website?

My website: http://www.kidscandoit.com

Sandra, it’s been such a pleasure to have you for tea. It was an honor to meet you and I wish you all the success with your books.

Sandra McLeod Humphrey is a retired clinical psychologist, a character education consultant, and an award-winning author of eight middle-grade and young adult books.  She’s also the recipient of the National Character Education Center’s Award for Exemplary Leadership in Ethics Education (2000) and the 2005 Helen Keating Ott Award for Outstanding Contribution to Children’s Literature. You can learn more about her books by visiting her Web site  at www.kidscandoit.com.
Connect with Sandy at:
FB Author Page: http://www.facebook.com/KidsCanDoIt/
Twitter: http://twitter.com/Sandra305
YouTube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/SandraMHum/videos

32 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Darlene Foster
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 16:47:33

    What a great interview with a very special person. I like your idea of having tea with the folks you interview. I am a fan of Sandra McLeod Humphrey and it was wonderful to learn more about her.

    Reply

  2. Nancy Jill Thames
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 17:12:11

    Thank you Darlene. We want you to feel like you’re enjoying a cup with us! You have a standing invitation!

    ~Nancy Jill Thames
    “Queen of Afternoon Tea”

    Reply

  3. Sandy Nachlinger
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 17:18:37

    I enjoyed getting to know more about Sandra McLeod Humphrey in today’s post. Her books are a treasure for children and parents both, and I’m looking forward to the release of Making Bad Stuff Good later this year. Keep up the good work, Sandy!

    Reply

  4. virginiaplantation
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 17:36:49

    I just love your blog!

    Michelle
    http://www.indiegogo.com/bellegroveplantation
    Will you help us Save our History?

    Reply

    • Nancy Jill Thames
      Jul 02, 2012 @ 19:27:33

      Thank you, Michelle. I hope you keep joining us for tea and celebrity interviews. I’ve never been to a Virginia plantation, but one day I sure hope to see one. Have a lovely week, my friend.

      ~Nancy Jill Thames
      “Queen of Afternoon Tea”

      Reply

      • virginiaplantation
        Jul 02, 2012 @ 19:31:13

        Thank you! I will continue to stop by. I might be calling on you for your help in making sure our afternoon teas are done right! We would love to have you come and stay with us!

        Michelle
        http://www.indiegogo.com/bellegroveplantation
        Will you help us Save our History?

        Reply

        • Nancy Jill Thames
          Jul 02, 2012 @ 19:37:34

          Hi Michelle,

          You never know! I learned the art of serving tea from a friend of mine who lived near London for five years. I got hooked, started serving afternoon tea when I got back from a trip to Europe to our children and neighbors over 22 years ago and haven’t stopped since!

          ~Nancy Jill Thames
          “Queen of Afternoon Tea”

    • Sandra McLeod Humphrey
      Jul 02, 2012 @ 20:30:00

      Michelle, I love Nancy’s blog too and I’m going to go help myself to another slice of her lemon meringue pie before it’s all gone!

      Reply

  5. extraordinaryireland
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 17:37:53

    Thank you for sharing this wonderful interview. The raspberry tea added a nice touch! Sandra is a very special writer and each time I read her post and now this interview, it has been such a pleasure to know her. Keep writing!

    Reply

  6. deirdre tolhurst
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 18:12:37

    What a great interview! I am currently reading this book, and with each new person featured I am learning so much! And I love that there are only a few pages for each person, as I have little to no time anymore to read.

    Jill, we met this past March at the Take 190 West Art Festival in Killeen, Tx. I was sitting across from you and down a ways. We spoke for a few minutes. How fun meeting up again across the miles!

    Reply

    • Nancy Jill Thames
      Jul 02, 2012 @ 19:31:32

      Hi Deirdre! Of course I remember you. Your book had a coloring book with it, right? And your dear husband supported you at your table all day! What a coincidence to have you join us for tea today! Lovely to connect again, my friend!

      ~Nancy Jill Thames
      “Queen of Afternoon Tea”

      Reply

    • Sandra McLeod Humphrey
      Jul 02, 2012 @ 20:33:10

      Deirdre, I’m glad you like my book and I’m going to read yours tonight. So many wonderful books out there, so little time to read them! Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

  7. goodreadswithronna
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 20:04:26

    What a great bunch of questions you’ve asked. I’m always happy to learn more about Sandra. She’s a super lady and author. One day after I finally finish my children’s book, I hope to be invited for tea, too! Thanks for this.

    Reply

  8. Cherrye Vasquez
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 23:14:27

    Sandra,

    You have such rich history. As a skilled clinical psychologist your expertise goes before you as an excellent author. You have so much to offer in the way that you shape the writing of your books.

    I am exceedingly impressed with your work!

    Cherrye

    Reply

  9. Peggy Strack (@pegmmg)
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 23:45:35

    What a great interview. It was so nice getting to know Sandra better. I’ll certainly drop by again.

    Reply

  10. sandra305
    Jul 03, 2012 @ 01:41:33

    Thanks so much, Nancy, for inviting me to be your guest! The food was wonderful, the company terrific, and I had a great time!

    Reply

    • Nancy Jill Thames
      Jul 03, 2012 @ 02:11:10

      It was my pleasure! Where else can we eat and drink to our heart’s desires and not gain weight? It was lovely to meet you. Best success to you!

      ~Nancy Jill Thames
      “Queen of Afternoon Tea”

      Reply

  11. extraordinaryireland
    Jul 04, 2012 @ 02:11:17

    Nancy, Your interview with Sandra was so easy to follow. A great interviewer makes it flow and I was happy to read yours and Sandra’s. Thanks for sharing. I would love to someday talk to you about Ireland and my book.
    Keep talking and serving that wonderful tea!
    Rosemary “Mamie” Adkins

    Reply

  12. Nancy Jill Thames
    Jul 04, 2012 @ 14:34:51

    Hi Mamie,

    Your book about Ireland sounds intriguing! We’ll definitely get together on that one!

    ~Nancy Jill Thames
    “Queen of Afternoon Tea”

    Reply

  13. Tom Blubaugh
    Jul 07, 2012 @ 22:20:19

    Great interview, ladies. I have to admit, you hooked me with the lemon meringue pie. This is my favorite. My mom used to make one for me on my birthdays. I lost her in 2005, but my oldest step-daughter, Jeanne, took over. Makes my birthdays not so devistating. Wishing you great success with your new book coming out, Sandy.

    Blessings,

    Tom Blubaugh, Author
    Night of the Cossack
    http://tomblubaugh.com

    Reply

  14. Anonymous
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 01:27:38

    Thanks, Tom. The lemon meringue pie appealed to quite a few people! Nice to have had a mom who made you something special on your birthdays – and how touching for Jeanne to take over for her. Thanks for stopping by.

    ~Nancy Jill Thames
    “Queen of Afternoon Tea”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

