NATY MATOS CELEBRITY AUTHOR INTERVIEW

“QUEEN OF THE WEEK”

CELEBRITY AUTHOR

NATY MATOS

Welcome! Let me pour you a cup of Lemon Lift tea and we’ll get started. I made your favorite eggplant finger sandwiches. I’ve included your recipe at the end of the interview. Hope they turned out like yours! And we have custard pie for dessert.

Where do you live? Tell us a little bit about yourself.

I was born in New York, but grew up in Puerto Rico. I moved to Atlanta 10 years ago. Although I miss the beach, I have made Atlanta my home.

Are you a traditionally published or Indie author?

I’m an indie author.

What are your hobbies?

Do writers have time for hobbies? LOL! Seriously, I like to read, I love to cook, and visit museums. I like all forms of art.

Tell us about your current book. What was your inspiration?

My last published book is The Road Home. When I was writing this book I was going through a transition of faith, from a believer to a committed relationship with Christ. The book is not my personal journey, but Desiree’s (my main character) journey to finding true love.

How did you become a writer? When did you start?

I started writing when I was 14 years old. I just had so many stories that would come into my head that I needed a way to get them out. I have always loved writing; it was the one thing that made me happy. After my college I stopped for a while because life took over, but God showed me my way back and I’m not leaving it this time.

How long did it take you to finish your first book?

Although I published a devotional in 2010 (Growth Lessons), my first book is The Road Home and it took me two years to get it ready for publication.

Where do you like to write?

I need a view to write. I have a chaise in my bedroom near a window. Recently I rearranged my office and now I have two windows, one in front of me and one next to me, so that has become my new favorite place, but as long as I have a window to look out of I can write anywhere.

Favorite authors?

I have a few, but I can think of Elizabeth Elliot, Precarious Yates, Nicholas Sparks.

How many books have you written, so far? Do you plan to write more?

I have published two, but I have written a total of 12 some of which are in the process of being edited. Yes, I plan to write as long as God gives me the energy to do so.

Would you like to share a link where we can purchase your books?

Here are all my books on

Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/Naty-Matos/e/B00657JDLE/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

Barnes & Nobles

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/naty-matos?keyword=naty+matos&store=allproducts

These are the links to the book

What about a link to your website?

http://therisingmuse.com

Thank you so much for visiting with us today, Naty. It was a real pleasure to have you over for tea and we wish you great success with your books.

Naty Mattos’ EGGPLANT SANDWICH

2 slices of bread

1 Eggplant

1 egg or ½ cup of egg substitute

1 slice of Swiss cheese

Alfalfa Sprouts

Lettuce

Tomato

Salt & Pepper to taste.

Non-stick spray

 

Directions:

Peel and slice the eggplant. On a bowl beat the egg or place the egg substitute. I put salt and pepper to the egg mixture. (Sometimes I would also add garlic powder). Spray a skillet with the non-stick spray. Submerge the eggplant slices and cook on med-high until they are golden. Once the eggplant is cooked, build your sandwich with the bread, cheese, lettuce, tomato, eggplant slices and alfalfa sprouts. (1 eggplant is enough for 3-4 sandwiches depending on the size) Enjoy!

 

*

 

Nancy Jill’s Cozy Custard Pie

1 9″ unbaked pie shell

1  13 oz can evaporated milk                                       

7 oz milk

3 eggs

3/4 c. sugar

1/4 t salt

1 t vanilla

ground nutmeg 

Directions: Heat oven to 400 degrees. Combine evaporated milk and milk in a microwave safe container (such as large glass or plastic measuring cup) and microwave for 3 minutes until milk is scalded. (A film will form when it is.)


In a mixing bowl (or stand mixer if you have one) beat the eggs until lemon-colored. Gradually add sugar, mixing well. Add salt and mix in. While mixing, slowly add the scalded milk until blended. Add vanilla and mix in. 


Slowly pour mixture into unbaked pie shell and dust with nutmeg to taste. (See picture.)


Bake at 400 degrees until firm or knife inserted in the middle comes out clean. About 40 minutes.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary Firmin
    Aug 17, 2012 @ 14:31:11

    This is my third try to make a comment. Your tea idea as the setting for an interview is fabulous. And I love Rosemary’s book. I read and reviewed it myself and I cannot recommend it highly enough. Her descriptions are mesmerizing and her history is accurate and interesting. You must read this wonderful book. Mary Firmin, author of Deadly Pleasures.

    Reply

  2. Anonymous
    Aug 17, 2012 @ 16:53:55

    So sorry for the confusion Mary! Your comment came up on another interview but don’t worry – I’ll still enter you in the drawing. Glad you enjoyed the tea.

    ~Nancy Jill

    Reply

  3. Rosemary Adkins
    Aug 17, 2012 @ 19:38:22

    Mary, thank you for such kind words about my book. I hope you enjoyed visiting the Emerald Isle through my book since you lived there! Please keep following. This weeks post is about the Blarney Woollen Milks and next week a look further into their history!
    Good luck with the drawing.

    Please come back!
    Rosemary

    Reply

Leave a Reply

